Supporting each other

Community forums

Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
This is the place for questions about learning design and pedagogy; how to use different page types for different purposes.
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Jumping between one PDF and various pages 3 years 10 months ago #6518

• ForteanOrg
  • ForteanOrg's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
Hi, folks.

In my LOs I want to give learners access to a textbook. This textbook is stored on the XOT server as a PDF. I had a number of requirements (see below), but when I tried to implement these requirements using Xerte I ran into some difficulties. I have been able to create a solution and it all works as I want it to work now. I will share my solution here, either to learn from the honourable audience here how to do this with standard Xerte solutions - fully expecting roars of laughter about my lack of knowledge as I'm relatively new to XOT - and be taught a better way - or, if there is no alternate solution within XOT to fulfil my requirements: to help others that may be in need of this functionality too.

These were my requirements:

1. The learner should be able to read the PDF online, in the LO, without the need for additional software.

2. I wanted to have ONE page in my LO where the learner could read the PDF. The PDF display page should be the last page of the LO, somewhat similar to an appendix in a book.

3. If you navigate to the last page directly (e.g. using the hamburger menu in the footer) the coursebook should simply open on its first page, as you would expect

4. The author of the course should be able to create links to the PDF and specify the page on which the PDF will open. When the learner clicks these links, he (1) should be taken to the display page, which should open the PDF on the proper page

5. When the learner is done reading he should merely need to click the 'back' button in the lower right corner and be taken back to the page he was on when he clicked the link.