Supporting each other

Community forums

Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
The place for more technical questions for those who want to create new pagetypes or bespoke functionality.
  • Page:

TOPIC:

LTI integration with Blackboard 6 years 5 months ago #4795

• tsalyers
  • tsalyers's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi. I'm a new-ish VLE developer, and we're looking at integrating Xerte into our Blackboard system. I've got a test server up and working with LDAP, SSL, and LTI configured, and Blackboard and Xerte seem to be communicating all right so far. I've got a small test project that I've linked into a course on our development Blackboard server.

The problem, though, is that when I delete the Xerte content from the course in Blackboard, there doesn't seem to be any way for Xerte to get the memo--that is, the content stays associated with the course in the lti_resource database table, and adding a Xerte link to the course after that will just go to the original content instead of asking me to select a project. Have I misconfigured something, or is there an additional step I need to take?

On a related note, it looks like the lti_resource table associates Xerte content IDs one-to-one with course IDs, which seems to imply that you can only ever have one Xerte link per course. Is that the case, or (again) have I got something configured not quite right?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

LTI integration with Blackboard 6 years 5 months ago #4796

• tom
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Thank you received: 308
We're currently re-implementing LTI in Xerte to remedy the issues you raise.

I don't know if all the issues will be solved (like deleting the connection, when the content is removed from blackboard).

This will be available in the next release of Xerte.