Supporting each other

Community forums

Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Report any technical problems you discover and discuss solutions.
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Intermittent Variable Failure 1 week 5 days ago #9031

• tas509
  • tas509's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 0
Hello all,
I'm a novice Xerte user and wanted to do this with a colleague.

I want to create a Gap Test object that asks for the user's email and displays it on the results page. (Just FYI, I've written some javascript that saves the results to a Google Sheet automatically, but if it doesn't know who has completed the test, I'm lost).

So I created an email variable, and added...

Enter your email [=email] 

...to my Gap Test's Introductory text, and it displayed fine. Then, after a while, say a few edit/play/publish iterations... it stopped displaying as a text formitem, and just displays the code.

Later I changed the variable name and the code to [=emailaddress] and it worked again. Once! And it is now just displaying the code again, no form item.

I have tried deleting the xerte cookie (no change) and logging out doesn't actually work (Mac, Chrome latest).

Does anybody have any ideas why this is happening and have any fixes please? Or is there any other ways to grab a meaningful user id?

Thanks
Tom

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Intermittent Variable Failure 1 week 4 days ago #9035

• Fay
  • Elite Member
  • Elite Member
  • Thank you received: 89
Hello
Is it possible for you to share a link to the project so I can try to work out what is going on please?
Thanks
Fay

Intermittent Variable Failure 1 week 4 days ago #9036

• tas509
!!!!! As a new user your posts can not contain external URLs. Please include text only for your posts.!!!!
Bloody hell...
https // xerte york ac uk/play php?template_id=4700
Will that work? Thanks... I didn't know how to share either.
Tom

Intermittent Variable Failure 1 week 4 days ago #9038

• Fay