Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Cancel button confusion

Cancel button confusion 9 months 5 days ago #4352

  • Candace Nolan-Grant
  • Candace Nolan-Grant's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 32
Hello all

I've had a couple users make the following mistake (to moderately disastrous effect) and I thought it was worth adding it here.

Basically, the user closes a project by accident; a dialogue box pops up asking if they want to publish their changes, with the options 'OK' or 'Cancel'; they choose 'Cancel' because they did not mean to close the project at all. The project then closes without publishing and their work gets lost.

I would suggest adding a 'Do not close' button, and/or renaming the 'Cancel' button 'Do not save', in the dialogue box.

Cheers

Candace
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Cancel button confusion 8 months 3 weeks ago #4370

  • Tom Reijnders
  • Tom Reijnders's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 725
  • Thank you received: 132
We've been able to reproduce this, but the situation is slightly different:

Basically there are 2 states that are saved:
- Preview state
- Publish state

So what you mentioned is about the Publish state (the state used when 'playing' the LO). When previewing or editing the LO, the preview state is used. The preview state is always saved (or at least that's the intention) when you leave the editor.

There is a bug that can result in loss of work:
- Fill in a text in the WYSIWYG editor
- Now close the editor, before moving to another field on the form, and before previewing
- In that specific case, the text is lost (even if you press publish!!!)

This has been fixed in the unstable branch for the next release.
As a workaround, just enter one of the other fields, or pages, or press the preview button.

If you know of another sequence that results in loss of work, please let us know.
Last Edit: 8 months 3 weeks ago by Tom Reijnders.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Cancel button confusion 8 months 3 weeks ago #4372

  • Candace Nolan-Grant
  • Candace Nolan-Grant's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 32
Thanks for this!

I unfortunately haven't been present when this happened to users, but I believe one of them was using the close (X) button at the top right of the screen. The other one had accidentally leaned on the keyboard and somehow triggered the window to close, resulting in the pop-up appearing. It's probable that both had been typing in the text editor.

However, both reported that most of their project was lost (rather than just the latest text they had typed). I have not been able to replicate this either, so was sticking to making the dialogue box clearer rather than a glitch that I can't reproduce.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Cancel button confusion 8 months 3 weeks ago #4374

  • Tom Reijnders
  • Tom Reijnders's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 725
  • Thank you received: 132
Again, the dialogue is only about the 'publish state'. It also indicates that the editor window was closed rather than the whole browser.

As far as we can tell, only the contents of the last editor is lost (which in it self is bad enough!) And we've been able to fix that for the next release.

Again, if there is any other sequence that causes work to be lost, for obvious reasons we would very much like to be able to fix that!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Cancel button confusion 3 months 8 hours ago #4671

  • JaapJan Vroom
  • JaapJan Vroom's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 74
Hi Tom

I know an other way to lose work... :(

Sometimes my screen is so full with windows, that I open a Xerte editor screen for the second time. I do the work, save and close the screen. In the meantime the first opened editorscreen is somewhere hidden. When I discover this screen and close it, it asks me to publish or not.

I am aware of the problem now, but a couple of times I said 'Yes' and saved the older version... Very annoying.

Is it possible to maximize the numbers of editorscreens per project?
Holy cow!
Last Edit: 3 months 8 hours ago by JaapJan Vroom.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Cancel button confusion 3 months 8 hours ago #4672

  • Tom Reijnders
  • Tom Reijnders's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 725
  • Thank you received: 132
We do. We try to re-open the first editor screen

This does not always work:

1. If you open the second editor in a differemnt browser
2. If the session timed out somehow.

The latter is a bug, and we're trying to find a solution for it.
The administrator has disabled public write access.
The following user(s) said Thank You: JaapJan Vroom
Moderators: John Smith
Time to create page: 0.337 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum

Donate

Sponsor us

The Xerte Community is a volunteer-based organization. Please help us to continue that!